Mockingjay

via Pinterest

Wednesday, February 22, 2012 – Book #2 done, now reading book #3. I think that by the time “The Hunger Games” movie will come out I will have finished reading this amazing trilogy.

“Catching Fire” was full of suspense, action and full of emotion. If I didn’t have to wake up early the next day I think there would have been a couple of nights that I would have stayed up to finish the book. After the first book I thought that Katniss was safe because she and Peeta survived the Hunger Games. The was they won the games made her a thorn in President Snow’s side.  With some crazy turn of events Katniss finds herself  competeing in the Hunger Games again.

I will try to keep the spoilers to a minimum… The games were so intense.  The set up was really clever. By outsmarting the Hunger Games, Katniss became a symbol for the rebellion.  President Snow was making her life miserable and for her interview makes her wear her wedding dress. I love how Cinna transformed the dress, but it may have cost him his life. I do hope that he is alive, but after that beating not too sure…

As I was reading this book I kept thinking how is Katniss going to survive… how is Peeta going to survive or Gale. Things got really intense when Katniss and Johanna are on their way down to the beach with Beetee’s special wire. When they notice that the wire got cut tings get really intense. Johanna hits Katniss in the head and then stabs her in the arm, which we later learn was to take out the tracking device.  At this point I couldn’t put the book down, I had to know how this was all going to end. At this point I read non-stop… The last chapter  was unbelievable and the ending – crazy! I am so glad that I have the next book – Mockingjay already downloaded and in my e-reader.

On my way home I started reading “Mockingjay” and am learning more about what happened with the Games. I hope that all the Districts rebel against the Capitol and take President Snow down.  Still don’t know what happened to Peeta…

About “Mockingjay” (from Goodreads)

Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.

It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plains – except Katniss.

The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay – no matter what the personal cost.

One thought on “Mockingjay

  1. Pingback: Finished reading Mockingjay | Writing every day…

Leave a Reply

