To Kill a Mockingbird

Wednesday, February 8, 2011 – At first I wasn’t too sure what I was going to write about. I caught a crappy cold making my brain go on strike. All of a sudden I remembered that I had watched “To Kill a Mockingbird” this week-end and had wanted to write something about it.

I vaguely remember reading this book in high school. I wish I would have remembered more about it – all I remember is that it was good. A while back ago I remember Oprah had mentioned that this book was one her favorite books and it had spiked my interest in the book again.

It is a book about race and prejudice, a child’s innocence and growing up. There are many great lessons to be learned from this book.  This is one that comes to mind… Atticus Finch often told his kids, Scout and Jem, that they need to walk in someone else’s shoes before judging them.

After seeing the movie, I definitely want to read “To Kill a Mockingbird” again.  I am curious to see how I will interpret this book as an adult and what lessons I will learn.

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

4 thoughts on “To Kill a Mockingbird

Leave a Reply

