Wonder dogs

Sunday, February 5, 2012 – I love visiting “The New York Times” because they often have great stories to read. Today the article that stood out was about service dogs called “Wonder dog”.  Anyone who knows me, knows that I love dogs! I have a little boston terrier, who is my little guardian angel!

“Wonder dog” is a story about a couple, who adopted two children from Russia. As the little boy grew older, he developed behavioral problems and was finally diagnosed with fetal alcohol syndrome. His mother had heard of an agency that had service dogs for autistic kids and thought that maybe a service dog would help her own son. But it was not easy…

She finally contacted 4 Paws for Ability, which is run by Karen Shirk, who herself was turned down by agencies for a service dog because she was on a ventilator. Her agency was able to find a dog for the little boy. With his service dog his parents were able to see a big improvement in him but he still has a really long road ahead of him.

After reading this story, I knew I had to share it. If you have a few minutes take the time and read it. Service dogs are unsung heroes, they help so many people with a variety of disabilities ranging from autism to soldiers with PTS. Even if you don’t have a disability,  a dog will bring you so much joy and will always be there for you. They will love you unconditionally! I remember last year when I was so sick that I couldn’t even get out of bed, my puppy would come and sleep next to me. One morning I woke up surrounded by her all of her toys. My puppy is the best thing that could have ever happened to me. No matter how I am feeling she will always put a smile on my face.

2 thoughts on “Wonder dogs

Leave a Reply

