Jumpy Monkey

jumpy-monkeyMonday, January 30, 2012 – Today I wanted to be a bit more adventurous in my tea drinking so I tried a new tea from Davids Tea – Jumpy Monkey. When they say you will never feel the same after trying it, that is so true! On their website it is classified as a stimulant! Well let me tell you that after a few sips I felt light headed! This tea is combination of coffee bean and Argentinian maté, as well as white chocolate and some other tasty stuff… My mom is Argentinian and as a kid I remember us going to a South American store getting maté tea and dulce de leche. I liked this tea but I don’t think it will be one that I will drinking every day.

Out of curiosity I wanted to see what were maté’s health benefits, since green tea and rooibos are known for their anti-cancer and anti-oxidant properties. I was a little bit shocked by what I had discovered…

There are some studies that show that maté may be linked to several different cancers. Kinda scary! So is it a healthy drink or a health risk?  I like drinking tea and all the healthy benefits that come with green tea, rooibos and even black tea is an added bonus. After reading that maté may naturally contain carcinogenic compounds, maté tea will not be my of choice of tea. Cancer is pretty scary, I would rather be drinking something that will help prevent it and not something that may contribute to it.

3 thoughts on “Jumpy Monkey

  1. Pingback: Pom Power | Writing every day…

Leave a Reply

